Lena. Dancing.

A blog about…well, dancing.

Some serious talk about Zumba

Although he may love what Zumba does to my body (hint hint nudge nudge), my boyfriend rarely passes up an opportunity to poke a bit of fun at Zumba – of the craze it has become, of the image associated with it (like the “glamorous sweaters” looking ecstatic and glowing down on us from Zumba posters) and in the end, of me.  I definitely do not look like a glamorous sweaty woman on a verge of ecstasy in my Zumba classes  –  and my students can tell you that. I am usually drenched and creating puddles of sweat everywhere I turn, I am terrified that one of my students will step and slip on one of those puddles and the only glow I exude is the one coming from my fluorescent face.  But I do look like a woman who is having a lot of fun, so that counts for something.

So every once in a while my boyfriend likes to creep up on me while I practice my choreography in front of the mirror in our bedroom and mimic my moves with a huge grin on his face. Or sometimes he busts out in a Zumba “elbow-jut” in the middle of the dance floor in a club. Fair enough – I also find his cycling outfit hilarious. And let’s not even mention the shorts he wears to volleyball.

But his playful approach to Zumba makes me think that Zumba is certainly not something to be taken seriously. Zumba’s appeal is exactly in how NOT-serious it is. Who cares if you can’t do that reggaeton step? Or that salsa move? The important thing is having fun trying it – and breaking a sweat along the way.

So I decided to scour the Internet in search of some funny takes on Zumba and here is what I found:

For all word-lovers, here is a pretty hilarious blog by one Lisa Newslin: Nine ridiculous observations I made about Zumba instructors.

For those preferring pictures, here are a few that made me laugh:

And here is my boyfriend’s attempt to ride the wave of Zumba craze and cash in on his songwriting skills.

See you all in my oh-so-serious Zumba classes on Monday, Thursday and soon also on Friday!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2014 by in Uncategorized.